The Ascension by Sufjan Stevens

The Ascension [Sufjan Stevens] Album Songs

NoSong TitleTime
1 5:18
2 4:07
3 4:15
4 3:42
5 4:21
6 5:46
7 6:32
8 3:42
9 5:04
10 3:50
11 4:04
12 3:48
13 7:36
14 5:56
Do you love The Ascension album? Please share your friends!

The Ascension by Sufjan Stevens Album Reviews

TransferWise 💸

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

- Beautiful Lyricism, incompatible instrumentals

My favourite thing about Sufjan will always be his ability to carve something so beautiful, raw, and reflective of the human experience out of language. That being said, the poetic nature of the lyrics were simply mismatched by the instrumentals. The cosmic feeling of drifting, reminiscent of Planetarium and Aporia simply felt distant from the sweet words and soft hush vocals. It wasn’t a miserable experience, I enjoyed some tracks, namely Make me an offer I cannot refuse and America, but overall, it simply did not impress me.

- Some highlights, some struggles.

I love “Video Game” and “America”. I can see where the rest of the album is coming from and I appreciate the artistry. I’ve always been something of a Sufjan fanboy, but this just wasn’t for me. Maybe it’s something I’ll have to listen to a few times to get it, but right now I’m just a little disappointed.

- Nope but was hoping

I bought his first single and love it. The rest of the album isn’t good. Disappointed. He’s had some great songs in the past. I don’t know what’s going on here. I think creatively he’s tapped out.

- Please

Put the synths away and pick up the guitar

- A Major Disappointment; Cacophonous Nightmare

I’ll start this off with a positive note: I’m very glad that Sufjan is trying something new. I do love his older material, but all of his music in the last decade had kind of converged on the same sound. It was time to change things up. I think there are good ideas here. It does feel like there could be a great album buried somewhere under here, but the way it is presented just isn’t tasteful. Prior to this release, a Sufjan album in 2020 felt like an unbelievable dream. But upon the release of all the singles, I started to lose hope. America was too long for what it was. Sugar is boring. Video game was silly and kind of terrible. And while these singles weren’t great, they weren’t terrible either. And nothing really prepared me for the deep cuts here. The deep cuts are what just absolutely ruin this album. Many of them are extremely boring and go absolutely nowhere. And the other half are loaded with grating and annoying electronics. Die Happy, Ursa Major, and Gilgamesh can all evoke a headache upon listening. Loud, distasteful, and abrasive electronics and sounds plague these songs, recalling something a lot like Danse Manatee from Animal Collective. And unfortunately, just about every song falls to either one of these problems. I have no desire to revisit this album. I think that Sufjan could make a great album out of these ideas and sounds, but in the case of a trial and error, this is an error. I hope the next album is better, because this is one of the biggest disappointments I can think of in recent memory

- Very cool sound!

I like where this is going. Will def take multiple listens.

- Always a pleasure

Good to have him back. The overall feel is not dissimilar to Todd Rundgren’s 2004 album “Liars”.

- He continues to evolve


- Album cover art is a masterpiece.

But the music...not so much. Cacophanous mess. A very poor attempt at a combo of Radiohead and Postal Service.

- Yuh


- discovered time travel to hear this album

100% worth it

- Who would give this one star without even hearing it lol

Go kiss the far rights feet goon

- Sufjan never disappoints

My most anticipated album of 2020. I cannot wait for this

- Genius

10 stars

AirBNB 🎁

Get $32 off on your first stay at travels. Claim your $32 Airbnb free credit by clicking here!

Payoneer 💰

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

Libertex 📈

You can learn how to earn on the Forex market! Become Libertex client and practice trading on financial markets without risk. Get Free Forex Course!

Mind Lab Pro ® 🎯

Mind Lab Pro® boosts work performance and productivity with nootropics for focus, multitasking under stress, creative problem-solving and more. Buy Now!

Sufjan Stevens - The Ascension Album Comments

What do you think The Ascension album? Can you share your thoughts and listen experiences with other peoples?

Sufjan Stevens - The Ascension Album Wiki

Ascension or ascending .

Are you safe on the Internet?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.